Bristol Studios Engineering Course Spotlight

Jon Henshaw, audio engineering assistant and aspiring music producer at Bristol Recording Studios, sat down to chat about his experience training in the Bristol Engineering & Production Courses; his background in music as well as what he’s learned while on the The Bristol Internship. Here’s what he had to say:

Bristol Studios: Tell us a little bit about your background in music.

Jon: Since I was 12, I’ve been a classically trained singer and I sang with the chorus at my high school. I went to The University of Vermont where I studied English and Philosophy. And while I was studying there, I sang with the UVM Top Cats, the all-male a cappella group. I spearheaded the group’s first recording project in over five years! Recording that album and watching the progression from the rough tracking to the finished product was really inspiring for me.

Bristol Studios: How did you hear about Bristol Studios?

Jon: I was interested in taking a position at a recording studio, so I did some research online about all the studios in the Boston area. Bristol’s courses and internship seemed like the most accessible and straightforward path to the career that I wanted.

Bristol Studios: What were the courses at Bristol Studios like?

Jon: I took the 5-week accelerated program, and  it was great to be able to finally get a solid foundation. I was finally able to piece together all the small bits of knowledge I already had. There’s a real architecture in the way Chris Billias (Senior Producer) and Dan Steinbrink (Engineer) introduce you to the different concepts and procedures common in the audio engineering world.

Jon Henshaw working the boards in Studio C

Read the rest of the article here!

~ by bristolstudios on August 28, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

